Raquel Del-Rio Morales

As Interviwed by Robinson Manuel, March 23, 2019

Raquel Del-Rio Morales: In Her Own Words

My name is Raquel Del-Rio Morales, I was born and raised in Maria Ramos Nieves, Zacatecas, located in Mexico. I’m currently 79 years old and an U.S citizen, but I was not always an U.S citizen. I’m going to share my story and my life, open up about my adventure and my journey of becoming an U.S citizen of this country. I will talk about when I first arrived to this country and the difficulties I’d faced including racism, discrimination, and not being able to communicate because I don’t speak the same language. My family and I first came to this country many years ago. We had to learn, to adapt to a completely new environment and learn a completely different language. At first it was very hard for all of us and we all had different experiences in this new country. I had to learn to face change with my family by myself since I am a widow, but my family was always there and we were always there for each other. I will explain and talk about how I’ve changed completely entering this country and how discrimination used to be such a big part of this country and maybe to the day it’s still is. A Lot has changed for good here and a lot of new law [ have appear ].Throughout time this country has change. It has grown, new laws have form, and new ways of looking at the diversity of this country including being a female, being a women. A lot of things have changed during history and I have been able to experience first hand of how it was before and how it is now. So I will be sharing my story of how I faced discrimination.